Underrated Style Icons: Mila Kunis and Macaulay Culkin

     

What the title says. They’re an underrated source of style inspiration. I’m shocked I don’t see moodboard-esque aesthetic posts of them more often. Crazy cool pairing first of all, peak 2000s casual outfits second of all. When people bemoan current celebrity style and yearn for the old days, this is what I think of. When do you ever see a celeb now in their favorite beat up pair of converse, or worn down denim jeans? Clothes that both feel and look familiar on your body always translate to better style than clothes picked out for you-- regardless of whether or not what you're wearing is considered "in vogue" --because you’re most yourself when you’re most in tune with what you’re wearing. I think that’s what I like the most about Mila’s style here, is how put together yet casual it is. Maybe I’m drawn to her because a man in a gay bar once told me I looked like her and then only referred to me as Mila for the rest of the night and I’m desperate to hold onto the comparison, OR it’s because her outfits are exactly, exactly what I would describe as a perfect fit.

The gray hoodie/t shirt + jeans + converse + chic handbag combo is one of the greatest of all time, especially when accessorized with some big hoop earrings and a cool boyfriend. So effortless. So good. It is an outfit agenda that I am extremely serious about pushing. I live and breathe the everyday t shirt + denim + converse. But anyway. Macaulay holds his own too, with his Strokes shirt catching my eye more than a few times while scrolling through google images results (The Strokes shirts are like easter eggs amongst 2000s pap shots). But as is the case with just about every other couple with style, I am mostly honing in on the girl. I love her green outfit here (and Kieran making an appearance!).

image

One of my favorite facets of personal style is the purse, because I love seeing what bags people are most loyal to. For Mila, her Balenciaga City crops up a lot in pap shots; But her green bag she's wearing in the above pic makes a lot of appearances too.